Hal Brook Perry Award Nominations

Nominations Open for The Hal Brook Perry Alumni Recognition Award

2016 Perry Award recipient, The Rev. Susan McCann

Nominations are now being accepted for The Hal Brook Perry Award, conferred upon a graduate of Seminary of the Southwest who exemplifies exceptional ministry to parishes, dioceses, and/or specific communities or ministries – locally, regional, or worldwide. The award is presented annually by the Southwest Alumni Association at Southwest’s Blandy Lectures and Alumni Convocation. This year’s convocation will be held from November 8 -10 on the campus of Seminary of the Southwest

Registration is open now for The Blandy Lectures and Alumni Convocation.

Nominations are encouraged to recognize servant ministries characterized especially by faithfulness through service, education & formation, and the building up of the church and its people – and not simply to highlight a noteworthy achievement.

In the spirit of The Rev. Hal Brook Perry –  the late assistant dean, registrar and instructor in church history for whom the award is named – emphasis is given to quiet, competent and diligent service that might otherwise go unnoticed by the larger church and the world.

To nominate someone for the award, please contact Gaylen Mahoney, Director of Annual Fund and Alumni Relations, at 512.439.0333 or gaylen.mahoney@ssw.edu.

The submission deadline is September  11.

Past recipients include:

Lucy C. Nazro, 1992
Robert Bonner, 1993
James E. Scott, 1995
Kenneth W. Kesselus, 1997
Kenneth R. Clark, 1998
William C. Morris, 2000
Katherine G. Riggs, 2001
Egbert M. Womack, 2002
Seth M. Deleery, 2003
William H. Wolfrum, 2004
Sandra Casey-Martus, 2005
Benjamin H. Skyles, 2006
Stephen Craft, 2007
Amy Donohue-Adams, 2007
Douglas Earle, 2009
Lacy Largent, 2009
Johnny W. Cook, 2009
John H. Gunkel, 2010
Esteban N. Saucedo, 2010
Kyle E. Dice Seage, 2011
Paul B. Wehner, 2011
Ernest W. McAfee, 2012
Mary C. Earle, 2013
Steven L. Thomason, 2014
Charles J. Cook, 2015
Susan G. McCann, 2016